TransAmerica

I put off watching TransAmerica for a long time, despite the positive press and the many awards that it received. I’m not sure why, exactly, I put it off, but it may have been out of the somewhat irrational fear that Felicity Huffman would be too scary as a male to female transsexual and seeing that would turn me off to the whole thing – thus leaving me without a life purpose.

Tonight I broke down and watched the film in the comfort of my own home. As it turns out, I was foolish for waiting so long to see it. The movie is a real treat; its both a great story and a great trans-story. The film doesn’t get everything about being trans right, I don’t think, but they make a noble attempt and bring to bear a realism that is believable, yet communicates clearly the many unique hurdles encountered by trans-people of all sorts.

If you haven’t seen this film yet, I highly recommend it.

Kate

 

Leave a Reply

