Chaz Bono and the FTM

I don’t usually have much interest in the stories of females-to-males, despite the obvious similarity of their story to mine and other male-to-females. It has taken me a few weeks to watching the Chaz Bono documentary for this reason, but I’ve now seen it and I am able to report that I find it quite enjoyable.

One of the most striking things about this documentary for me has been Chaz’s comments about his long struggle to accept himself, while ignoring the feelings of others. I have made no qualms about the fact that I take other people’s opinions into account when it comes to my gender presentation, but I often hear transitioned trans-folks talk about how they got past others’ opinions in order to achieve their final state. I wonder whether getting beyond the opinions of others is necessary to find happiness or just to transition.

If you haven’t seen the documentary yet, I recommend you keep an eye out for it. It has been airing regularly on Oprah’s OWN network.

Kate

Leave a Reply

