A Recap of June, with Visitors

I went to see my psychotherapist today, for my regular check in. This was my only June 2009 visit to see her, so I made a list of gender-related news to report, before I went. Here’s the talking points:

  • Had a frank talk with my wife at the end of May; let her know I was proceeding as planned. Gave her the choice of a six month reprieve and seperation or sticking by me as I moved ahead. She chose the later.
  • Went to see Dr. Wilson about hormones. Took a while to get to see him, since he was on vacation. Finally got in to see him. Started hormones June 19th, 2009.
  • Went shopping in the ladies department by myself several times, for perhaps the first time. Had to fight the anxiety, but the more I did it, the easier it got. Still not sure about buying lingerie for myself, per se, but I think I can handle a pair of jeans and a top at most places.
  • A big one – came out to my friend Melanie, then had friends Nicole and Melanie over to see me dressed. This is huge, since only my wife has ever seen me dressed in person. Coley and Melly did my make up, gave me some free make up, and even made my cheap ass wig look respectable. What a night.

From here, it looks like I’m just going to have to wait for the hormones to do their work, try and help my wife adjust, if possible, come out to siblings and my employer, and look into elecrolysis and eventually other surgeries, I may want.  The future is coming.

Leave a Reply

